I lost to a lawn mower


“Barber giving one of his $2.50 haircuts.” Anchorage, Alaska, November 1952
Photo by George Silk, LIFE Archives

The latest post at A Continuous Lean is especially timely for me.  Yesterday I went to get my hair cut, as I desperately needed.

I go to an old-school barber.  I always have–except  for a year of high school when I went to a unisex salon–but I quickly switched back to the traditional barber shop.

As I stepped to the door of the barber shop yesterday, I saw four people in line ahead of me.  Knowing my barber likes to take his time and talk, it was clear I was not going to get through in time for my appointment within the hour.

Against my better judgment, I went to a local unisex bargain salon.  The woman cutting my hair was very nice, and did a generally good job.  But it is not at all what my hair should look like.

My barber knows me.  He knows my hair.  And he knows how it should be.  Now, I’m stuck with my hair an inch shorter than it should be and a style completely wrong for me.  At least it’ll grow back–eventually.

It’s a hard-earned lesson that when you find someone who cuts your hair, and cuts it right, don’t. go. anywhere. else.  Not for any reason.

The post at A Continuous Lean is about the opening of Baxter Finley Barber & Shop in Los Angeles.

Check out the ACL post, but also be sure to look on the Baxter Finley blog itself.

The shop is very well designed, with a clean, classic and masculine style.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

