Jeeps on my mind

Jeep Ride. April 1949.
Photo by Peter Stackpole, from the LIFE Archives

I’m on my fifth month of Jeep ownership.  Although my Jeep has had a few mechanical issues, I see them more as fun mechanical activities than pesky mechanical problems.  I’ve enjoyed working on it and I love to drive it!  I’ve been looking at pictures of old Jeeps, particularly around WWII.  Enjoy!

Jeep driver at Fort Benning. April 1942.
Photo by Alfred T. Palmer.  Library of Congress

New River, N.C.  The Marine Corps throws a lot of jobs to the jeeps.May 1942.
Photo by Alfred T. Palmer.  Library of Congress

Production. Jeep engines.  Cylinders being drilled into engine block. February 1942.
Photo by Alfred T. Palmer. Library of Congress

Production. Jeeps. Putting “shoes” on another hard-boiled recruit.  December 1941.
Photo by Alfred T. Palmer.  Library of Congress

Note: December 1941 is the month of the attack on Pearl Harbor.  This is early in the war effort.

Rear view of jeep.  US 1941.
Photo by George Strock

Note: I’m a bit confused by this one.  Note the “Ford” emblem embossed on the back?  I did not know Ford made lower-case “jeeps” during this time or any other for that matter.  Can anyone tell me about this?

Leave a comment

Filed under Armed Forces, Automobiles and Machines, History, Industry Fabrication and Manufacturing

Leave a Reply

